How to Finance The Hot Spot Studios Franchise: Pottery Painting
By Anthony Cornella
The Hot Spot Studios franchise loan usually funds a small creative studio rather than a large build-out: a retail space with painting tables, shelves of unfinished pottery, a kiln, a candle-making station and enough working capital to fill the calendar with walk-ins, parties and group events. The franchisor publishes its headline costs, which gives a borrower a clear starting point.
US Professional Funding is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by The Hot Spot Studios; the name is used only to describe the business. Figures from the franchisor’s website and disclosure document can change, loan programs and terms vary by lender and borrower, and every loan is subject to lender review and approval. Nothing here is legal, tax or investment advice, so review the current Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) with a franchise attorney and an accountant before you sign.
The Hot Spot Studios Franchise Loan at a Glance
- Initial franchise fee: $39,500 for one studio, according to the franchisor’s Path to Ownership page.
- Estimated startup investment: $74,400 to $157,600 for one studio, including the franchise fee.
- Multi-unit discount: $10,000 off the franchise fee for each additional studio when an owner opens more than one.
- Royalty: 5% of gross sales.
- Brand fund and technology: 1% of gross sales to the brand fund, plus a technology fee of $250 a month for the point-of-sale system and web maintenance.
- Grand opening: $1,500 to $2,500, included in the startup range.
- Studio size: existing studios range from 500 to 2,200 square feet.
- Net worth and liquidity: not published on the franchise site; the franchisor points candidates to the FDD.
- SBA Franchise Directory: listed under code S8150, with a note about lease documents when real estate secures the loan.
What Is The Hot Spot Studios?
The Hot Spot Studios is a paint-your-own-pottery concept. Its founder, Olivia Parsons Franks, opened her first pottery painting studio in 1996, and she co-founded The Hot Spot Studios franchise company with Lorraine M. Kitsos in 2023. Customers choose a piece of unfinished pottery, paint it at the studio, and come back for it after the studio glazes and fires it.
The brand also lists canvas painting, candle making, succulent gardens, mosaics and slime, and describes its mission as a relaxed, fun atmosphere where everyone feels comfortable regardless of artistic ability. Studios also run take-home projects and fundraisers for schools and non-profit groups.
A young franchise system. Franchising is relatively new for this brand, and its franchise site features profiles of more than 50 owners, some of them with studios still in development. For lenders, a newer system means the owner’s own plan and capital carry more weight. Our article on financing an emerging franchise explains how lenders approach newer brands.
Why lenders see a modest deal. A studio of 500 to 2,200 square feet in leased retail space involves no land or heavy construction, which keeps the loan small compared with most restaurant or fitness franchises.
The Hot Spot Studios Franchise Costs
Initial franchise fee. The franchisor lists a $39,500 initial franchise fee for one studio, included in the startup range. Owners who open two or more studios receive a $10,000 discount on the franchise fee for each additional studio.
Lease and build-out. Most studios sit in leased retail space. Costs typically include deposits, early rent and improvements such as lighting, flooring, cleanup sinks and electrical work for kilns. A larger studio will generally push these costs toward the high end of the range.
Equipment and fixtures. A pottery studio relies on kilns, shelving for bisque and finished pieces, painting tables and seating, glaze and paint supplies, candle-making equipment and a point-of-sale system.
Opening costs and working capital. The franchisor includes a grand opening budget of $1,500 to $2,500 in its startup range. Opening inventory, training costs and cash for early payroll and rent also belong here.
Total investment. According to the franchisor’s Path to Ownership page, the startup investment for one studio is $74,400 to $157,600, including the franchise fee. Ask for the FDD’s Item 7 table, which breaks this total into line items and states its assumptions. Expect it to cover categories such as:
- Initial franchise fee ($39,500 for one studio)
- Lease deposits and rent before opening
- Leasehold improvements and decor
- Kilns, furniture, fixtures and signage
- Point-of-sale system and technology
- Opening inventory of pottery and craft supplies
- Grand opening marketing ($1,500 to $2,500)
- Training, travel and professional fees
- Additional funds for the initial operating period
Ongoing Fees and How They Affect Your Loan
Royalty. The royalty is 5% of gross sales, paid on every dollar the studio brings in.
Brand fund. Owners contribute 1% of gross sales to the brand fund, in addition to the royalty.
Technology fee. The franchisor’s FAQ describes a technology fee of $250 a month for the point-of-sale software and web maintenance. Because it is a fixed amount, it weighs more heavily in a studio’s slower months.
How lenders factor these costs in. When sizing The Hot Spot Studios franchise loan, lenders deduct the royalty, brand fund and technology fee along with rent, payroll and supplies before calculating the cash available for debt service.
Franchisor Requirements for New Owners
The franchise site does not publish a minimum net worth or liquid capital requirement, so ask the franchisor and check the FDD.
The approval process. The franchisor describes a six-step path:
- Inquire: submit the get-started form.
- Interview: a brief call about the opportunity.
- Review the FDD: complete a confidential questionnaire and receive the disclosure document.
- Executive approval: qualified candidates are approved to join the network.
- Training: learn studio operations before opening.
- Open: launch the studio.
The franchisor says owners can be open within a few months of signing, depending on the location and build-out, and it lists support for pre-opening, site selection, marketing and ongoing operations. It also maintains a page aimed at veterans; ask whether any veteran incentive applies and confirm it in the FDD.
Ways to Own The Hot Spot Studios
A new studio. Lenders underwrite a new studio on projections, the owner’s capital and experience, and the lease. Our entertainment business start-up financing page covers how we approach new openings.
Buying an existing studio. As the system grows, some studios may change hands. A resale lets a lender review actual sales, event bookings and expenses, and the purchase price may include goodwill, kilns, inventory and the lease. Our guide to buying a franchise resale explains transfer approval and timing, and our entertainment business acquisition loans page covers purchase financing.
Multiple studios. The $10,000 per-studio fee discount rewards owners who commit to more than one location. Financing for a multi-studio plan is covered below.
Financing Options for The Hot Spot Studios Franchise
SBA 7(a) loans. Because the brand is on the SBA Franchise Directory, an SBA 7(a) loan is a natural fit for many buyers. One loan can cover the franchise fee, build-out, kilns and fixtures, opening inventory and working capital.
SBA 504 loans. The 504 program is built for owner-occupied real estate and long-lived fixed assets. Since most studios lease small retail spaces, 504 financing will rarely fit unless an owner buys a building for the studio.
Conventional term loans. A borrower with strong credit, collateral and liquidity may prefer a conventional business loan, particularly when buying an existing studio or adding a location to an established group.
Equipment financing. Kilns, shelving, tables, candle-making equipment and the point-of-sale system can sometimes be financed on their own, with the equipment as collateral. Learn more about franchise equipment financing and leasing.
Working capital and lines of credit. Studio traffic often follows school calendars, holidays and weekends. A line of credit can bridge slow weeks and fund inventory ahead of busy seasons. See our entertainment business working capital options.
Seller financing on resales. On the purchase of an existing studio, a seller may agree to carry part of the price. A seller note is typically subordinate to the senior loan, and SBA rules and individual lenders may limit how it is structured.
SBA Loans for The Hot Spot Studios Franchisees
The SBA Franchise Directory lists brands whose franchise agreements have been reviewed for SBA eligibility, and SBA lenders generally require a brand to be listed before making an SBA-guaranteed loan to one of its franchisees. A listing clears the franchise relationship for review; it does not approve any borrower.
The Hot Spot Studios is listed under code S8150. The directory adds a note: when the real estate where the franchise business is located will secure the SBA-guaranteed loan, the Conditional Assignment of Lease and Consent and Agreement of Landlord may not be executed. In plain English, that document lets the franchisor step into a studio’s lease in certain situations. If the owner’s own real estate secures the SBA loan, it should not be signed, so the franchisor’s rights do not conflict with the lender’s claim. For a typical leased studio, the note will rarely come into play, but confirm it with your lender and attorney.
The SBA 7(a) program maximum is currently $5 million, and program rules can change. Estimate payments early with our SBA loan calculator, keeping in mind that results are for planning only.
SBA application tips. An SBA-backed The Hot Spot Studios franchise loan request should include the FDD, the franchise agreement, the lease or letter of intent, monthly projections, personal financial statements and tax returns.
How Lenders Evaluate The Hot Spot Studios Deal
Personal credit and financial history. Expect a review of credit reports, tax returns and a personal financial statement, and plan on a personal guarantee.
Net worth and liquidity. Lenders want to see your equity contribution plus reserves after closing. Because the franchise site does not state a minimum, ask the franchisor for its requirement and confirm it in the FDD.
Industry and management experience. Retail, hospitality, event planning, teaching or art experience helps, along with a plan for staffing weekends and parties.
Business plan and projections. Show how the studio will fill tables through walk-ins, parties, field trips, fundraisers and take-home kits, and model seasonality, supply costs per piece and the fixed technology fee.
The FDD and franchise agreement. Lenders review the term, renewal, transfer and termination provisions, the territory and any franchisor financing. Item 19 shows whether the FDD includes financial performance representations. Review Items 3 and 4 as well. Our guide on franchise due diligence lists what to check.
Site and lease. Visibility, parking and family-oriented neighbors matter, and lenders want a lease term that covers the loan.
Historical financials for existing studios. For a resale, provide several years of profit and loss statements, sales reports and tax returns.
Kilns, Supplies and the Studio Build-Out
Kilns are central to a pottery studio and a natural focus of any equipment review. Ask the franchisor which kiln models and sizes it requires, whether the space needs electrical upgrades or ventilation, and how much firing capacity the studio needs on busy weekends.
Inventory is the other moving piece. Unfinished pottery, glazes, wax, wicks and canvases turn over steadily, so build an inventory cushion into working capital.
Multi-Unit Growth and Development Agreements
The $10,000 franchise fee discount for each additional studio gives multi-unit owners a cost advantage. Lenders typically finance a second studio once the first has a track record, using its results to support the new loan.
As the group grows, lenders will want consolidated financial statements. Our guide to multi-unit franchise financing explains how lenders size loans across several units.
Real-World Scenarios
A former teacher opening a first studio. A borrower with classroom experience opens a small studio near schools and family neighborhoods. An SBA 7(a) loan covers the build-out, kilns and opening inventory, and the plan leans on field trips, fundraisers and weekend parties.
A couple buying an existing studio. Buyers purchase an operating studio from its original owner. The lender reviews actual sales and event history, and the seller carries a small note subordinate to the senior loan.
An owner adding a second location. An established owner uses the first studio’s results to support financing for a second, takes the $10,000 franchise fee discount and finances new kilns separately.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Treating the startup range as a single number instead of reviewing the full Item 7 table
- Leaving out the fixed monthly technology fee from projections
- Underestimating seasonal swings around school calendars and holidays
- Choosing a space without confirming the electrical capacity kilns require
- Starting with too little working capital for inventory and early payroll
For more pitfalls, read the loan mistakes entertainment business owners make.
Next Steps to Finance Your Hot Spot Studios Franchise
Step 1: Request the FDD. Complete the franchisor’s questionnaire and review the FDD with a franchise attorney and accountant.
Step 2: Confirm the financial qualifications. Ask the franchisor for its net worth and liquid capital requirements and compare them with your finances.
Step 3: Talk with a financing specialist. Learn early how SBA and conventional lenders will size your loan.
Step 4: Find a site. Use the franchisor’s site selection support.
Step 5: Build your projections. Model sessions, parties, seasonality and every fee.
Step 6: Apply and close. Submit your loan package with the FDD, lease, plan and personal financials, and coordinate closing with the franchise agreement.
The Hot Spot Studios Franchise Loan FAQs
How much does The Hot Spot Studios franchise cost?
The franchisor lists a startup investment of $74,400 to $157,600 for one studio, including the franchise fee. The current FDD’s Item 7 table gives the full breakdown.
What is the franchise fee?
The initial franchise fee is $39,500 for one studio, with a $10,000 discount for each additional studio.
What royalty and other fees apply?
The royalty is 5% of gross sales, the brand fund is 1% of gross sales, and the technology fee is $250 a month.
How much liquid capital do I need?
The franchise site does not publish a net worth or liquid capital requirement. Ask the franchisor and review the FDD, and plan on enough cash for your equity contribution plus reserves.
Can I get an SBA loan for The Hot Spot Studios?
Yes, the brand is listed on the SBA Franchise Directory under code S8150, so SBA 7(a) financing is available to qualified borrowers, subject to lender approval.
Can a first-time owner get The Hot Spot Studios franchise loan?
Yes. First-time owners can qualify with good credit, enough capital and a solid plan, and the franchisor’s training helps strengthen the application.
Can I buy an existing studio?
Yes, if one is for sale and the franchisor approves the transfer, and lenders can then review its actual results.
How long is the franchise term?
The franchise site does not state it. Check Item 17 of the FDD for the term, renewal and transfer conditions.
Does the franchisor offer financing?
Review Item 10 of the current FDD, which discloses any financing the franchisor offers. Most owners arrange their own loans.
Final Thoughts
The Hot Spot Studios offers a lower-cost entry into a creative, family-friendly business. A careful borrower confirms the full FDD figures, plans for kilns, seasonality and fixed fees, and keeps enough cash on hand to grow a loyal customer base.
US Professional Funding helps franchise owners finance start-ups, acquisitions, equipment and working capital. Learn more about our franchise financing and family entertainment business financing solutions.



