How to Finance a Techy Franchise: Repair and Smart Home Stores
By Chris Cornella
A Techy franchise loan pays for a small-footprint repair business: a store that fixes phones, computers, tablets and smart home hardware, sells devices and accessories, and can add a wrapped service van or a coffee counter. Most of the cost sits in an equipment and inventory package, signage and working capital rather than heavy construction.
This article covers the costs in Techy’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), the formats the brand offers, its SBA listing and how lenders size a loan for a new store, a van territory or a resale.
US Professional Funding is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Techy; the name is used only to describe the business. Figures from the franchisor’s disclosure document can change, loan programs and terms vary by lender and borrower, and every loan is subject to lender review and approval. Nothing here is legal, tax or investment advice. Review the current FDD and franchise agreement with a franchise attorney and an accountant before you sign.
Techy Franchise Loan at a Glance
- Franchisor: Techy, LLC, based in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, according to its 2026 FDD (issued April 15, 2026, as amended April 22, 2026).
- Initial franchise fee: $15,000 for a single store, plus a $7,500 training fee.
- Royalty: 7% of weekly gross revenues, or 6% for any week in which gross revenues reach $7,500.
- Marketing and Technology Fund: the greater of 2% of the prior month’s gross revenues or $785.
- Estimated initial investment: $118,600 to $399,500 for an inline store; $112,500 to $393,000 for an in-store location; $82,500 to $105,500 for a van territory without a store.
- SBA Franchise Directory: listed under code S5428, with a note on lease assignments and lien position.
What Is Techy?
The 2026 FDD describes Techy as installation, maintenance and repair of phones, computers, tablets and smart home hardware, along with sales of specified devices and accessories. The franchisor, Techy, LLC, was formed on August 3, 2016, and began offering franchises later that month. A predecessor formed in 2014 assigned its franchise agreements to Techy, LLC in 2016.
Formats. The FDD describes an inline storefront of about 500 to 1,800 square feet; an in-store location of about 250 to 1,000 square feet inside a large big-box retailer, subleased from an affiliate of the franchisor; a wrapped Techy Van offered as an add-on or, in limited territories, without a store; a Techy Café coffee and snack add-on of roughly 100 to 500 square feet; and area development rights.
How lenders see it. A repair store is a service business with retail attached. Fixed costs are modest, but hard collateral (tools, parts, fixtures) is limited, so lenders focus on the owner, the local market and how quickly the store builds steady volume.
Techy Franchise Costs
Initial franchise fee and training. The single-store fee is $15,000, paid in a lump sum and not refundable. A separate $7,500 training fee covers 72 hours of classroom training in Fort Lauderdale and 40 hours of on-the-job training at a commonly owned store.
The Start-Up Package. The biggest variable is the Start-Up Package, $52,500 to $227,500, bought from an affiliate of the franchisor. Ask for a written breakdown so your lender can see which parts are equipment, fixtures, inventory or build-out.
Real estate and working capital. Item 7 budgets three months of rent and six months of additional funds rather than a purchase of property.
Total investment, inline store: $118,600 to $399,500. The Item 7 line items are:
- Initial franchise fee: $15,000
- Training: $7,500
- Start-Up Package: $52,500 to $227,500
- Travel and expenses: $1,000 to $20,000
- Real estate (three months of rent): $9,600 to $19,500
- Utility deposits and permits: $1,000 to $4,000
- Additional inventory: $750 to $4,000
- Business license: $1,000 to $4,000
- Insurance: $750 to $1,500
- Legal and accounting: $2,000 to $20,000
- Surveillance and alarm: $500 to $1,500
- Opening day marketing: $2,000 to $3,000
- Marketing for the first 60 days: $4,000 to $6,000
- Miscellaneous: $1,000 to $6,000
- Additional funds (six months): $20,000 to $60,000
Other formats. An in-store location is estimated at $112,500 to $393,000, with rent of $9,000 to $15,500 for three months under the sublease. A van added to an existing location is estimated at $60,000 to $83,000, including the van at $29,000 to $38,500 and signage and wrap at $6,500 to $9,500. A van territory without a store adds the franchise and training fees, for $82,500 to $105,500.
Ongoing Fees and How They Affect Your Loan
Royalty. The royalty is calculated weekly at 7%, dropping to 6% in weeks that reach $7,500 in gross revenues, so projections should model it week by week.
Marketing. The fund contribution is the greater of 2% or $785 a month and may increase by up to 10% per year on notice. Local marketing is the greater of 1.5% of the prior month’s gross revenues or $500.
Other fees. The FDD lists a $100 monthly accessory support fee (waived when accessory purchases reach $300 a month), call log software at $50 a month, a $10,000 transfer fee plus $7,500 training for a buyer, and a renewal fee of 20% of the then-current franchise fee.
Lender view. The dollar minimums hit hardest early. A new store pays at least $785 to the fund and $500 in local marketing every month before sales build, so lenders want working capital that covers those floors plus rent, payroll and debt service.
Franchisor Requirements for New Owners
The portion of the 2026 FDD reviewed here does not state a franchisee net worth or liquid capital minimum, so confirm current qualifications with the franchisor. Lenders will apply their own standards either way.
The FDD says the typical time from signing to opening is approximately 90 days, and that not opening within 180 days may allow the franchisor to terminate. A franchisor representative supports the opening for a total of seven days.
Ways to Own a Techy
New inline store. You lease a storefront, buy the package and open with the full Item 7 budget. Lenders underwrite on projections. Our franchise start-up financing page explains how new-unit loans are structured.
In-store location. Lower rent and built-in traffic, but the space is a sublease from the franchisor’s affiliate, and lenders will read its term and termination rights.
Van-only territory. A smaller deal centered on a vehicle and its equipment, often suited to vehicle or equipment financing.
Existing store. A resale lets a lender underwrite actual repair volume. See our guide to buying a franchise resale and our overview of technology business acquisition financing.
Financing Options for a Techy Franchise
SBA 7(a) loans. Because Techy is on the SBA Franchise Directory, an SBA 7(a) loan can be considered for the fee, Start-Up Package, leasehold improvements, van and working capital.
Conventional term loans. Buyers with strong credit and liquidity, especially on resales, may use a conventional business loan.
Equipment and vehicle financing. Repair benches, micro-soldering and diagnostic tools, point-of-sale hardware, security systems and the wrapped van can often be financed separately. See technology equipment financing and leasing.
Working capital. Parts and accessory inventory, technician payroll and the marketing minimums all need cash before revenue stabilizes, and demand can shift with new device releases. Explore technology working capital and lines of credit.
Franchisor financing (Item 10). The 2026 FDD says Techy may, at its discretion, finance up to 40% of inline tenant improvements, cabinetry, furnishings, furniture and Start-Up Package costs. A financed franchise fee is repaid in 24 monthly installments with no prepayment penalty, and owners or spouses may have to sign a guaranty. Disclose any franchisor note to your lender.
Seller financing. On a resale, a seller may carry part of the price. Seller notes are typically subordinate to the senior lender, and SBA rules may limit them.
SBA Loans for Techy Franchisees
SBA lenders check the SBA Franchise Directory to confirm that a brand’s franchise agreement has been reviewed for eligibility. Techy is listed under code S5428. A listing does not approve any borrower. Learn how the SBA Franchise Directory works.
The directory note in plain English. First, when real estate where the business is located will secure the SBA-guaranteed loan, the franchisor’s Collateral Assignment of Lease may not be executed. Second, the lender must obtain the correct lien position on all collateral under SBA rules, which matters if the franchisor also finances part of the package.
The SBA 7(a) program maximum is currently $5 million, though program rules can change. Our SBA loan calculator gives planning estimates only.
How Lenders Evaluate a Techy Deal
Credit and financial history. Lenders review credit, tax returns and a personal financial statement, and typically require a personal guarantee.
Net worth and liquidity. Cash for the equity injection and reserves after opening carry extra weight when collateral is light.
Experience. Repair, retail or IT management helps. If you will hire technicians, show a staffing plan.
Projections. Model the weekly royalty, marketing minimums, parts and accessory margins, payroll and a realistic ramp-up.
The FDD. Lenders read Items 5, 6, 7, 10 and 17; review Items 3 and 4 with your attorney. Our guide to how lenders read a Franchise Disclosure Document covers the key sections.
Site and lease. Lenders want a lease or sublease term that supports the loan.
Resale financials. Expect to provide several years of profit and loss statements and tax returns.
Multi-Unit Growth and Development Agreements
Under the 2026 FDD, the area development fee is $25,000 for two stores, $30,000 for three, $35,000 for four and $40,000 for five, with part due at signing. Area developers are estimated at $47,500 to $80,000 before real property, and each store then carries its own Item 7 budget. Lenders typically finance each store as it opens, using earlier results to support the next. Read more on multi-unit franchise financing.
Real-World Scenarios
First-time inline owner. A former retail manager uses savings for the equity injection and an SBA 7(a) loan for the fee, package and working capital.
Adding a van. An owner with a year of results finances a wrapped van with a vehicle loan to reach smart home installs.
Resale buyer. A buyer acquires an existing store, the lender underwrites its history and the seller carries a small subordinate note.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Treating the Start-Up Package as one number instead of getting it itemized
- Ignoring the monthly marketing minimums in early projections
- Signing an in-store sublease without understanding its termination rights
- Not telling your lender about franchisor financing
- Committing to a development schedule you cannot finance
Read more in technology company loan mistakes that cost owners the most.
Next Steps to Finance Your Techy Franchise
Step 1: Get the current FDD. Review it with a franchise attorney.
Step 2: Choose your format. Inline, in-store, van or area development.
Step 3: Itemize the Start-Up Package. Match each item to the right financing.
Step 4: Build projections. Cover at least two years month by month.
Step 5: Talk with a financing specialist. Compare SBA, conventional and equipment options before signing a lease.
Step 6: Apply, close and open. Keep the loan timeline aligned with the 90-day opening target.
Techy Franchise Loan FAQs
How much does it cost to open a Techy franchise?
The 2026 FDD estimates $118,600 to $399,500 for an inline store and $112,500 to $393,000 for an in-store location.
What is the Techy franchise fee?
$15,000 for a single store, plus a $7,500 training fee.
What royalty does Techy charge?
7% of weekly gross revenues, or 6% in weeks that reach $7,500, plus fund and local marketing contributions.
Can I get an SBA loan for a Techy franchise?
Yes. Techy is listed on the SBA Franchise Directory under code S5428, so a Techy franchise loan through SBA 7(a) can be considered, subject to approval.
Does Techy offer financing?
Item 10 says the franchisor may, at its discretion, finance part of inline improvements and package costs and may finance the franchise fee over 24 months.
How much liquid capital do I need?
The FDD portion reviewed here does not state a minimum; expect lenders to require an equity injection and reserves.
Can I finance the van separately?
Often, yes, with a vehicle or equipment loan.
Can I buy an existing Techy store?
Yes, with franchisor approval, a $10,000 transfer fee and $7,500 training for the buyer.
Can a first-time owner qualify for a Techy franchise loan?
Yes, if the franchisor and lender approve; a staffing plan and solid reserves help.
Does the FDD include financial performance information?
Check Item 19 of the current FDD to see whether it includes financial performance representations.
Final Thoughts
A Techy store is a modest investment by franchise standards, but the wide Start-Up Package range and monthly marketing minimums make planning important. Itemize the package, choose the right format and keep a healthy reserve when you structure a Techy franchise loan.
US Professional Funding helps franchise owners and buyers finance start-ups, acquisitions, equipment and working capital. Learn more about our franchise financing and technology business financing solutions.



