How to Finance a Blaze Pizza Franchise: Costs, Ovens and SBA
By Chris Cornella
A Blaze Pizza franchise loan has to fund a restaurant that is built around fire. Every unit centers on an open-hearth oven and a made-to-order assembly line, so the money goes into a heavy kitchen build-out, a large furniture and equipment package, signage, technology, opening marketing and enough cash to carry the store through its first months. For most owners, the build-out and equipment alone account for the bulk of the budget.
This article explains what the franchisor’s disclosure document says a new restaurant costs, which fees continue after opening, how owners enter the system and which loan programs may fit each path. US Professional Funding is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Blaze Pizza; the name is used only to describe the business. Figures below come from the franchisor’s disclosure document and can change. Loan programs, terms and eligibility vary by lender and borrower, every loan is subject to underwriting and approval, and nothing here is legal, tax or investment advice.
Blaze Pizza Franchise Loan at a Glance
The figures below come from Blaze Pizza, LLC’s Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 30, 2026. Always compare them with the disclosure document you actually receive.
- Initial franchise fee: $30,000 per restaurant, due when each franchise agreement is signed
- Area development fee: $10,000 for each restaurant beyond the first, or $10,000 to $90,000 for a schedule of 2 to 10 restaurants, credited toward later franchise fees
- Royalty: 5% of gross sales, paid weekly
- Creative Fund: currently 2% of gross sales, which the franchisor may raise to as much as 4% on notice
- Local advertising: 2% of gross sales spent locally, measured over rolling 6-month periods
- Estimated initial investment: $757,000 to $1,297,100 for a single traditional restaurant
- Typical size: about 1,800 to 2,500 square feet for a traditional restaurant and about 600 to 1,200 square feet for non-traditional and food court units
- Franchisor financing: none, according to Item 10
- SBA Franchise Directory: listed under code S0225 as “Blaze Pizza,” with no additional notes
The disclosure document we reviewed does not state a minimum net worth or liquid capital figure, so expect the franchisor and your lender to evaluate your finances directly.
What Is Blaze Pizza?
Blaze Pizza is a fast-casual pizza concept. Guests choose a signature pizza or build their own from up to 40 ingredients displayed along the line, and the pizza is “fast-fired” in an open-hearth oven in a few minutes. The franchisor, Blaze Pizza, LLC, is a California limited liability company organized in October 2011, and it began offering franchises in May 2012. Its principal office is in Atlanta, Georgia.
Restaurants serve dine-in and carryout guests and take online orders. Some locations may also serve beer and wine, and a few may operate alongside another brand. Restaurants are open year-round except for selected holidays.
The disclosure document describes three formats. Traditional restaurants sit in strip centers, dense urban areas, regional shopping centers and entertainment or travel centers. Non-traditional venues operate inside another business or institution, such as an airport, stadium, hospital or toll road plaza. Food court units round out the list. Non-traditional units receive no exclusivity or territorial protection and do not count toward a development schedule.
How lenders tend to see the concept. Lenders usually treat a Blaze Pizza restaurant as a leased, equipment-heavy fast-casual unit. With no real estate in the standard budget, most of the collateral is the oven, kitchen equipment, furniture and leasehold improvements, plus the owner’s personal guarantee. That makes the build-out budget, the lease and the owner’s restaurant experience central to the credit decision.
Blaze Pizza Franchise Costs
Item 7 of the disclosure document estimates what a franchisee spends from signing through the first three months of operation. According to the 2026 FDD, the total for one traditional restaurant is $757,000 to $1,297,100, of which $30,000 to $40,000 is paid to the franchisor or its affiliates. Non-traditional and food court units may cost less.
Initial Franchise Fee and Development Fee
The initial franchise fee is $30,000 per restaurant, paid in a lump sum when each franchise agreement is signed, and it is nonrefundable. Owners who commit to more than one restaurant sign an area development agreement and pay $10,000 for each restaurant beyond the first. A two-restaurant schedule carries a $10,000 development fee, and a ten-restaurant schedule carries $90,000. The development fee is credited at $10,000 against the franchise fee for each later restaurant until it is used up, and it is also nonrefundable.
Leasehold Improvements and Site Costs
Leasehold improvements are estimated at $300,000 to $570,000, the largest and most variable line. Architect and engineering fees run $15,000 to $25,000, though the franchisor provides a preliminary layout at no charge once a lease is signed. Permits and liquor licensing are estimated at $5,000 to $25,000, and the first month’s rent and security deposit at $3,000 to $24,000.
The Item 7 estimate does not reflect landlord construction allowances or tenant improvement credits. A generous allowance can move your costs toward the low end of the range, but landlords often recover it through higher rent, so a lender will look at both the allowance and the rent it produces.
Ovens, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment
Furniture, fixtures, equipment and decor are estimated at $300,000 to $400,000. This is the category where the open-hearth oven, refrigeration, the make line, seating and interior finishes typically fall. Signage and graphics add $20,000 to $40,000, and the computer system adds $15,000 to $25,000.
Opening Costs and Working Capital
Several smaller lines cover the run-up to opening: a grand opening kit and menu boards at $5,500 to $7,100, uniforms, initial inventory and smallwares at $24,000 to $41,500, grand opening advertising at $10,000 to $30,000, free pizzas for the grand opening at $0 to $6,000, insurance deposits at $500 to $5,000, training expenses at $4,000 to $8,500 and professional fees at $5,000 to $15,000. Additional funds for the first three months are estimated at $20,000 to $45,000.
Total Estimated Investment
The 2026 FDD lists these Item 7 line items for one traditional restaurant:
- Initial franchise fee: $30,000
- Architect and engineer: $15,000 to $25,000
- Permits and liquor licensing: $5,000 to $25,000
- Leasehold improvements: $300,000 to $570,000
- Furniture, fixtures, equipment and decor: $300,000 to $400,000
- Signage and graphics: $20,000 to $40,000
- Grand opening kit and menu boards: $5,500 to $7,100
- Computer system: $15,000 to $25,000
- Uniforms, initial inventory and smallwares: $24,000 to $41,500
- Grand opening advertising: $10,000 to $30,000
- Grand opening free pizzas: $0 to $6,000
- Insurance deposits: $500 to $5,000
- First month’s rent and security deposit: $3,000 to $24,000
- Initial training expenses: $4,000 to $8,500
- Professional fees: $5,000 to $15,000
- Additional funds for three months: $20,000 to $45,000
- Total: $757,000 to $1,297,100
Area development fees of $10,000 to $90,000 sit outside the single-restaurant total. Replace each estimate with real bids for your site before you finalize the loan request.
Ongoing Fees and How They Affect Your Loan
Lenders size a restaurant loan on the cash left after food, labor, occupancy and franchise fees. Fees charged as a percentage of sales come off the top before any debt payment, so they shape how much a store can borrow. According to the 2026 FDD:
- Royalty: 5% of gross sales, paid weekly by electronic transfer
- Creative Fund: currently 2% of gross sales, with the franchisor able to raise it to 4% on 60 days’ notice
- Local advertising: 2% of gross sales over each rolling 6-month period, with any shortfall payable to the Creative Fund
- Technology fee: up to $300 per month, with annual increases capped at 3%
- Training software and device licenses: about $60 per month for two training tablets, plus $4 per tablet for device management
- Transfer fee: 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee per restaurant, about $15,000 today, plus a $1,000 nonrefundable deposit with the application
- Renewal fee: 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee, about $15,000 today
Taken together, the royalty, Creative Fund and local advertising spend claim a meaningful share of every sales dollar, and the combined load could rise if the Creative Fund contribution increases. A careful projection runs both the current rate and the higher permitted rate so the loan still works if fees change.
Remodels. The franchise agreement contains remodeling requirements, and the franchisee pays construction and remodeling costs. Ask the franchisor how often updates are expected and set aside a reserve, or plan to finance the work when it comes due. Our article on paying for required franchise remodels covers the options.
Franchisor Requirements for New Owners
The disclosure document we reviewed does not publish a minimum net worth or liquid capital requirement. Expect the franchisor to review your finances, restaurant and management background and your plan for running the store.
The timeline is tight once you sign. The 2026 FDD says you must find an acceptable site within 90 days of signing or the franchisor may terminate the agreements, and you must open within 12 months. The typical time from signing to opening is 9 to 12 months. Initial training lasts up to 4 weeks for up to three managers, a director of operations or multi-unit supervisor and an operating principal, and it is provided at no fee for your first two restaurants, although you pay your own travel and wages.
Because site selection and loan approval both run against the same clock, many owners start the financing conversation before signing, so the lender can review a letter of intent as soon as a site is identified.
Ways to Own a Blaze Pizza
Opening a new traditional restaurant. Most new owners build a traditional store in a leased retail space. Financing covers the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, signage, opening costs and working capital, and the lender underwrites projections rather than history. Our page on franchise start-up financing outlines how a new location is typically funded.
Signing an area development agreement. Owners who want several restaurants commit to a development schedule and sign later franchise agreements by the earlier of site acceptance or 180 days before each development deadline. Each store is usually financed as it moves through site approval and construction.
Buying an existing restaurant. A resale comes with a trained staff, installed equipment and a sales history a lender can study. The franchisor must approve the buyer, a transfer fee applies and the landlord usually has to consent to a lease assignment. Learn more about financing a franchise acquisition.
Non-traditional and food court units. These smaller formats may cost less to build, but they operate under host-venue rules and receive no territorial protection. Lenders review the host agreement, the venue’s operating hours and any seasonal traffic pattern alongside the franchise documents.
Financing Options for a Blaze Pizza Franchise
SBA 7(a) Loans
SBA 7(a) loans are often a fit for a leased restaurant because a single loan can cover the franchise fee, leasehold improvements, the oven and equipment package, signage, opening inventory and working capital. A 7(a) loan can also fund the purchase of an existing store. Eligibility depends on the borrower, the use of proceeds, program rules and lender approval.
SBA 504 Loans
SBA 504 loans are designed for owner-occupied real estate and long-lived fixed assets. They fit a Blaze Pizza only in narrower cases, such as an owner who buys a small building or pad site for a restaurant, or a multi-unit operator who wants to own a property rather than lease it.
Conventional Term Loans
Experienced operators with several open stores, solid liquidity and clean financial statements may qualify for conventional business loans for new units, remodels or acquisitions. Terms, collateral and guarantee requirements vary, and conventional credit tends to favor established multi-unit groups.
Equipment Financing
A Blaze Pizza kitchen depends on its open-hearth oven, dough handling and proofing equipment, refrigerated make lines, walk-in coolers, beverage equipment and the point-of-sale and digital ordering hardware. Some of this equipment can be financed on its own, with the equipment as collateral, which can preserve cash for the build-out. See our restaurant equipment financing and leasing options.
Working Capital and Lines of Credit
Working capital pays for pre-opening wages during training, grand opening marketing, dough and topping inventory and the weeks before sales settle. The FDD’s three-month additional funds estimate of $20,000 to $45,000 is a starting point, and many lenders and owners prefer a larger cushion for a slow ramp-up. A line of credit can also help a store manage a dip in traffic or a repair to the oven. Read more about restaurant working capital and lines of credit.
Seller Financing on Resales
When buying an existing restaurant, the seller may agree to carry part of the price. A seller note is typically subordinate to the primary loan, and SBA rules and lenders may limit how such a note is structured and when payments can begin. Our article on seller financing when buying a restaurant explains the details.
SBA Loans for Blaze Pizza Franchisees
SBA loans are made by participating lenders, with the SBA guaranteeing part of each loan. The SBA 7(a) program maximum is currently $5 million, although program rules can change. A Blaze Pizza franchise loan for one traditional restaurant typically fits inside that limit, while a multi-store schedule may eventually call for a mix of SBA and conventional credit.
The Blaze Pizza SBA Directory Listing
For a franchise borrower, the lender must confirm that the franchise relationship meets SBA eligibility rules. Blaze Pizza is listed on the SBA Franchise Directory under code S0225, “Blaze Pizza,” and the listing carries no additional notes. In plain English, the franchise agreement has already been reviewed for SBA purposes, so the lender does not need to start that review from scratch. A listing does not approve any borrower, guarantee a loan or replace the lender’s own underwriting.
SBA Application Tips
Build projections that include the royalty, Creative Fund, local advertising and technology fees. Show the full Item 7 budget alongside your contractor’s bids, and identify any landlord allowance separately. Our SBA loan calculator can help you estimate payments while you plan; results are for planning only and are not an offer or approval.
How Lenders Evaluate a Blaze Pizza Deal
Personal Credit and Financial History
Lenders review personal credit, tax returns and existing debts for each principal owner, and owners with significant stakes typically sign personal guarantees.
Net Worth and Liquidity
Expect questions about the cash you will put into the project and what you will hold in reserve after closing. On a build-out of this size, a lender will want to see that construction overruns or a slower opening will not drain the business.
Restaurant and Management Experience
A Blaze Pizza line runs at speed during lunch and dinner peaks, and it depends on dough handling, oven management, labor scheduling and food cost control. Experience managing a restaurant or a team of hourly employees strengthens a request. If you lack it, a plan to hire an experienced general manager can help.
Business Plan and Projections
Projections should reflect how a Blaze Pizza store earns its sales: lunch and dinner traffic, digital orders, any beer and wine sales where permitted, and the grand opening period. They should also show weekly royalty draws, the Creative Fund and local advertising, technology fees, rent and loan payments.
The FDD and Franchise Agreement
Lenders read the term, renewal and transfer rules, the remodel obligations and the development schedule. Item 10 of the 2026 FDD states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee franchisee notes, leases or other obligations, so outside financing carries the full project.
Site and Lease
The lease term, including renewal options, should cover at least the loan term. Lenders review rent, common area charges, tenant improvement allowances, assignment clauses and landlord waivers that give the lender access to equipment. Negotiating those clauses before signing is far easier than amending them later.
Historical Financials on a Resale
For an existing store, lenders study several years of tax returns, profit and loss statements, sales reports, labor and food cost trends and the condition of the oven and refrigeration.
The Oven Line: What You Are Actually Financing
The open-hearth oven defines a Blaze Pizza restaurant. It sits at the end of the line where guests can see it, and it drives the hood, ventilation, fire suppression and utility work inside the leasehold improvements budget. That is one reason the construction line in Item 7 runs as high as it does.
Ahead of the oven, refrigerated make lines hold the toppings that guests choose along the line, and dough preparation equipment and walk-in coolers support it from the back of house. Seating and decor fill out the rest.
On a resale, ask for an equipment list with ages and service records, especially for the oven and refrigeration. Replacing a major piece shortly after closing can strain cash flow, so it is better to price that work into the purchase financing than to discover it later.
Multi-Unit Growth and Development Agreements
The area development agreement is how most multi-unit Blaze Pizza growth is organized. The franchisor sets the development area based on demographics and geography, the development fee is paid up front and each later franchise agreement is signed as sites are accepted.
Each Blaze Pizza franchise loan in a development schedule is usually approved store by store rather than for the entire schedule at once. Lenders look at the performance of open stores, total debt and the owner’s remaining cash, and global cash flow becomes the key measure as the group grows. Missing a development deadline can have consequences under the agreement, so align site selection, construction bids and loan approvals with the schedule. Our article on funding an area development schedule walks through how operators plan for it.
Real-World Scenarios
A restaurant manager opening a first store. A general manager with years of fast-casual experience signs a single franchise agreement and secures a strip-center end cap. She uses an SBA 7(a) loan for the build-out, oven package, fees and working capital, and negotiates a tenant improvement allowance that reduces what she needs to borrow.
A multi-unit operator signing a development schedule. An operator with other restaurant experience signs an area development agreement for several stores. Each store is financed as its site is accepted, with the lender reviewing the first store’s results before approving the second.
A buyer purchasing an existing restaurant. A buyer finds an established store whose owner wants to sell. The lender underwrites the store’s tax returns and sales history, the franchisor approves the buyer and the transfer fee, the landlord consents to the lease assignment and the seller carries a small subordinate note.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Budgeting from the low end of Item 7 before landlord work and local construction costs are confirmed
- Counting a tenant improvement allowance without checking how it changes the rent
- Projecting cash flow at today’s 2% Creative Fund rate without testing the higher permitted rate
- Signing before financing is lined up and then running short of the 90-day site and 12-month opening deadlines
- Leaving only the three-month additional funds estimate and no cushion for a slow ramp-up
- Committing to a development schedule without a financing plan for each store
For a deeper look, read the restaurant loan mistakes that cost owners the most.
Next Steps to Finance Your Blaze Pizza Franchise
Step 1: Review the disclosure document. Read the current FDD with a franchise attorney, focusing on Items 5, 6, 7, 10, 12, 17 and 19, the franchise agreement and any development agreement.
Step 2: Choose your path. Decide between a single new restaurant, an area development schedule, a resale or a non-traditional unit.
Step 3: Talk with a financing specialist before you sign. Confirm which programs may fit and how much equity you will likely need, so the site and opening deadlines do not outrun your financing.
Step 4: Secure the site. Negotiate the lease with financing in mind, including term, renewal options, assignment rights and tenant improvement allowances.
Step 5: Build the budget. Start with the Item 7 categories, replace estimates with contractor and equipment bids and add a contingency and a working capital cushion.
Step 6: Assemble your loan package. Gather tax returns, a personal financial statement, a resume, the franchise documents, the lease or letter of intent, bids and projections.
Step 7: Coordinate approvals and close. Align franchisor site acceptance, landlord approval and loan approval so construction can start on schedule.
Blaze Pizza Franchise Loan FAQs
How much does it cost to open a Blaze Pizza?
According to the 2026 FDD, the estimated initial investment for one traditional restaurant is $757,000 to $1,297,100, covering the period from signing through the first three months of operation.
What is the Blaze Pizza franchise fee?
The initial franchise fee is $30,000 per restaurant. Owners who sign an area development agreement also pay $10,000 for each restaurant beyond the first, credited toward later franchise fees.
What royalty does Blaze Pizza charge?
The royalty is 5% of gross sales, paid weekly. The Creative Fund contribution is currently 2% of gross sales, and franchisees must also spend 2% on local advertising.
How much net worth or liquid capital do I need?
The disclosure document we reviewed does not state a minimum. The franchisor reviews each candidate, and lenders will want to see cash for your equity contribution plus reserves after closing.
Can I use an SBA loan for a Blaze Pizza franchise?
Possibly. Blaze Pizza is listed on the SBA Franchise Directory under code S0225 with no additional notes, which simplifies the lender’s review of the franchise agreement. Eligibility still depends on the borrower, the project and lender approval.
Can I finance the oven and kitchen equipment separately?
Often, yes. The oven, refrigeration and other equipment can sometimes be financed on their own with the equipment as collateral, subject to lender approval and the primary lender’s view of the added debt.
Can I buy an existing Blaze Pizza restaurant?
Yes, subject to franchisor approval of the buyer and landlord consent to the lease assignment. The 2026 FDD sets the transfer fee at 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee per restaurant, plus a $1,000 deposit with the application.
Can a first-time owner get a Blaze Pizza franchise loan?
It may be possible. Lenders weigh restaurant and management experience heavily, so a first-time owner may strengthen a request with relevant work history or by hiring an experienced general manager.
Can I open more than one Blaze Pizza?
Yes. The area development agreement covers schedules of 2 to 10 restaurants in the 2026 FDD. Lenders typically finance each store as it is ready, based on the results of the stores already open.
Does Blaze Pizza offer financing?
No. Item 10 of the 2026 FDD states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee franchisee obligations.
How long is the franchise agreement?
The term and renewal conditions appear in the franchise agreement and Item 17 of the disclosure document. Lenders generally want the franchise term and the lease to run at least as long as the loan, so confirm both before applying.
What documents do I need to apply?
Expect to provide tax returns, a personal financial statement, a resume, the franchise documents, a lease or letter of intent, construction and equipment bids and projections. Resales add the seller’s financial statements and sales reports.
Final Thoughts
A Blaze Pizza franchise loan is mostly a construction and equipment loan wrapped around a franchise agreement. Owners who budget from real bids, plan for the full fee load, respect the site and opening deadlines and line up financing before they sign give themselves the clearest path to opening day.
US Professional Funding helps franchise buyers and owners finance new locations, acquisitions, equipment and working capital. Learn more about our franchise financing and restaurant financing.



