How to Finance an Arwa Coffee Franchise: Yemeni Coffee Shop Costs
By Marc Cornella
An Arwa Coffee franchise loan funds a dine-in and carry-out coffee shop built around coffee prepared in the Yemeni tradition, with lattes, cappuccinos and teas flavored with the brand’s custom spices. Because the biggest cost in the budget is the build-out of a leased retail space, the financing plan has to be as careful about construction as it is about coffee.
This article walks through the figures in Arwa Coffee’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), how its SBA Franchise Directory listing affects an Arwa Coffee franchise loan, and how lenders review a young coffee franchise system.
US Professional Funding is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Arwa Coffee; the name is used only to describe the business. Figures from the franchisor’s disclosure document can change, loan programs vary, and every loan is subject to approval. Nothing here is legal, tax or investment advice, so review the current FDD and franchise agreement with a franchise attorney and an accountant before you sign.
Arwa Coffee Franchise Loan at a Glance
- Franchisor: Arwa Coffee Franchising LLC, a Texas company based in Carrollton, Texas, that has offered franchises since February 2024, according to its 2026 FDD.
- Concept: a premium coffee shop serving Yemeni-style coffee, espresso drinks and spiced teas, typically in 1,800 to 3,000 square feet of retail space.
- Initial franchise fee: $40,000 for a single shop.
- Royalty and marketing: a 4% royalty, a brand development fee currently set at 1% of gross sales, and a required local marketing spend of 1% of gross sales.
- Total initial investment: $237,300 to $614,600 for one shop under Item 7 of the 2026 FDD.
- Multi-unit option: a development agreement for at least three shops, with an $80,000 development fee for three.
- Franchisor financing: none offered, according to Item 10.
- SBA Franchise Directory: listed under code S8369, with no additional notes.
What Is Arwa Coffee?
Arwa Coffee describes itself as a dine-in and carry-out premium coffee shop experience featuring signature coffee prepared in the Yemeni coffee tradition. The menu pairs that heritage coffee with familiar espresso drinks and with teas flavored with the brand’s own spice blends.
Company history. According to the 2026 FDD, an affiliate of the franchisor has run a company-owned shop in Richardson, Texas, since December 2022, and affiliates also operate shops in Frisco and Irving, Texas. The franchising company itself was formed in November 2023 and began offering franchises in February 2024, so the franchise system is still young.
Supply model. Franchisees must buy coffee beans, spices, proprietary ingredients and branded items from an affiliate of the franchisor. The FDD estimates that required purchases make up 70% to 80% of a franchisee’s initial purchases and 50% to 80% of ongoing operating purchases. Your product costs are therefore tied to the franchisor’s pricing.
How lenders see the brand. Lenders tend to treat a franchise this new as an emerging system. The concept has company-run shops behind it, but a short franchised track record means your own experience, liquidity and site plan carry more weight. See our article on buying or opening a coffee shop.
Arwa Coffee Franchise Costs
The 2026 FDD gives a clear Item 7 table, which makes it easier to build a sources-and-uses statement for an Arwa Coffee franchise loan.
Initial franchise fee. The fee is $40,000, paid in a lump sum when you sign the franchise agreement. Under a three-shop development agreement, the development fee is $80,000: $40,000 for the first shop plus $20,000 for each additional shop.
Real estate and build-out. Leasehold improvements are the swing factor, estimated at $90,000 to $350,000. Second-generation cafe space tends toward the low end; raw shell space toward the high end. Architectural plans add $5,000 to $10,000, and three months of rent and deposits are estimated at $5,000 to $12,000. Our page on financing a restaurant build-out explains how construction draws work.
Equipment and technology. Fixtures, furniture and equipment are estimated at $40,000 to $110,000, with $7,000 for the POS system and other hardware and $7,000 for signage and graphics. These items must come from the franchisor or designated suppliers.
Opening costs and working capital. Initial inventory runs $10,000 to $15,000, and smallwares, uniforms and supplies another $10,000 to $15,000. The FDD also sets aside $15,000 to $30,000 in additional funds for the first three months.
Total investment. The full Item 7 range for one shop is $237,300 to $614,600:
- Initial franchise fee: $40,000
- Lease, rent and deposit (3 months): $5,000 to $12,000
- Leasehold improvements: $90,000 to $350,000
- Fixtures, furniture and equipment: $40,000 to $110,000
- POS system and other hardware: $7,000
- Insurance (3 months): $1,200 to $2,000
- Signage and graphics: $7,000
- Smallwares, uniforms and initial supplies: $10,000 to $15,000
- Initial inventory: $10,000 to $15,000
- Travel expenses: $1,500 to $4,000
- Grand opening advertising: $2,000 to $6,000
- Architectural blueprints and plans: $5,000 to $10,000
- Utility deposit: $600
- Government permits and licenses: $500 to $1,000
- Legal and accounting fees: $2,500 to $5,000
- Additional funds (3 months): $15,000 to $30,000
For a three-shop development deal, the FDD puts the initial investment at $277,300 to $654,600, which covers the first shop’s costs without the single-unit fee plus the $80,000 development fee.
Ongoing Fees and How They Affect Your Loan
Item 6 of the 2026 FDD lists these recurring costs:
- Royalty: 4% of gross sales, paid monthly.
- Brand development fee: currently 1% of gross sales, which the franchisor may raise to as much as 3% on 30 days’ notice.
- Local marketing: 1% of gross sales spent by you, with any shortfall paid into the brand development fund.
- Technology fee: currently $150 a month, which can rise by up to 25% of the prior year’s fee each year.
- Software subscription: currently $150 to $250 a month.
- Transfer fees: $10,000 for a sale of a controlling interest or substantially all assets, and $1,500 for certain non-controlling transfers.
- Renewal fee: 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee.
How lenders use these numbers. A lender subtracts cost of goods, labor, rent and the fees above from projected sales and compares what is left with the annual loan payment. Test projections with the brand development fee at both 1% and the 3% ceiling. Because most product comes from the franchisor’s affiliate, ask how supply pricing has changed and build that into your cost of goods.
Franchisor Requirements for New Owners
The portion of the 2026 FDD we reviewed does not state a minimum net worth or liquid capital requirement, so ask the franchisor directly during discovery. What the FDD does set out is the operating commitment:
- The shop must always be under your on-site supervision or that of a general manager who has completed initial training.
- Initial training totals 80 hours: 14 classroom hours and 66 on-the-job hours, completed at least four weeks before opening.
- Up to five people attend initial training without a training fee, though you cover their travel, wages and living costs. Additional training is $350 per person per day.
- The typical time from signing to opening is 180 days, and the shop must open within 365 days of the agreement’s effective date, with one possible extension of up to 90 days.
Ways to Own an Arwa Coffee Shop
A new single shop. Most buyers will open a new location, financed with a franchise start-up loan covering the fee, build-out, equipment and opening working capital.
Converting an existing coffee shop. The FDD says converting an existing similar business typically takes 30 to 60 days. A conversion can lower build-out costs, and a lender will review the existing business’s records.
A three-shop development agreement. Multi-unit development requires a minimum of three shops.
Financing Options for an Arwa Coffee Franchise
SBA 7(a) loans. Because the brand is on the SBA Franchise Directory, an SBA 7(a) loan can combine the franchise fee, leasehold improvements, equipment, inventory and working capital in one package.
SBA 504 loans. The FDD allows leased or purchased retail space. If you buy the building, an SBA 504 loan can finance the real estate and long-lived equipment over a long term.
Conventional term loans. Experienced operators with strong credit and liquidity may qualify for conventional business loans, which often ask for more collateral or a larger cash injection.
Equipment financing. Espresso machines, grinders, brewers, refrigeration, ice machines, display cases and POS hardware can be funded through restaurant equipment financing and leasing.
Working capital and lines of credit. The FDD budgets three months of additional funds, but a new cafe often needs more runway while it builds a regular customer base. Restaurant working capital can cover payroll, rent and product orders during the ramp-up.
Seller financing on resales. On the purchase of an existing shop, a seller may carry part of the price. Seller notes are typically subordinate to the main loan, and SBA programs may limit them.
SBA Loans for Arwa Coffee Franchisees
The SBA Franchise Directory lists franchise brands whose agreements have been reviewed for SBA loan eligibility. Arwa Coffee is listed under code S8369 with no additional notes, which means a lender can rely on the listing instead of separately reviewing the franchise agreement for affiliation issues.
The SBA 7(a) program maximum is currently $5 million, though program rules can change.
SBA application tips. Gather tax returns, a personal financial statement, a resume showing food service or management experience, the FDD and franchise agreement, a lease or letter of intent, contractor bids for the build-out and monthly projections. Our SBA loan calculator helps you test payments at different loan amounts.
How Lenders Evaluate an Arwa Coffee Deal
Credit, net worth and liquidity. Lenders review credit reports, tax returns and debts, and they want cash for the equity injection plus reserves.
Industry and management experience. Cafe, restaurant or retail management experience is a real advantage. If you are new to food service, show the general manager you plan to hire and their training.
Business plan and projections. Reflect traffic patterns by daypart, seating capacity, labor for long hours and the cost of supplies bought through the franchisor’s affiliate.
The FDD and franchise agreement. Lenders read Items 5, 6, 7, 10, 12, 17, 19 and 20. Note that you do not get an exclusive territory: your designated area is generally a 2-mile radius around the shop, can be smaller in dense urban areas, and excludes reserved sites such as malls, airports and campuses.
Site and lease. Lenders want a lease term that covers the loan, plus a clear tenant improvement allowance and build-out timeline.
The Build-Out: Where Arwa Coffee Budgets Swing
Leasehold improvements alone can range from $90,000 to $350,000, the widest gap in the Item 7 table. Before you apply, get the franchisor’s design requirements, have a contractor walk the site and ask the landlord for a tenant improvement allowance in writing. A lender will size the loan around firm bids, not estimates, and will want a contingency for overruns.
Multi-Unit Growth and Development Agreements
The development agreement requires a minimum of three shops on a schedule the franchisor sets, and the franchisor can modify or end territorial protections if you miss your obligations. Lenders usually finance one shop at a time, so plan cash for each shop’s equity injection. Our article on area development agreement financing explains how lenders approach these deals.
Real-World Scenarios
A first-time owner in a growing suburb. A former retail manager opens a single shop in a second-generation cafe space, keeping the build-out near the low end and using an SBA 7(a) loan for the full project.
An independent coffee shop owner converting. An owner with an existing cafe converts to the brand, uses a loan to cover the franchise fee and updates, and refinances older equipment debt in the same package.
A family partnership signing for three shops. Three partners sign a development agreement, finance the first shop with an SBA 7(a) loan and hold reserves for the next two.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Sizing the loan before you have contractor bids for the build-out.
- Budgeting the brand development fee at 1% without testing the 3% ceiling.
- Assuming a protected territory when the FDD grants none.
- Signing a lease before your lender reviews it.
- Committing to three shops without reserves for the second and third.
See our list of restaurant loan mistakes for more pitfalls.
Next Steps to Finance Your Arwa Coffee Franchise
Step 1: Request the current FDD. Review it with a franchise attorney and an accountant.
Step 2: Confirm the franchisor’s financial requirements. Ask about any net worth or liquidity minimum.
Step 3: Choose single-unit or development. Decide whether one shop or three fits your capital.
Step 4: Find a site. Get a letter of intent and contractor bids.
Step 5: Build projections. Include all Item 6 fees and affiliate supply costs.
Step 6: Apply. Compare SBA 7(a), SBA 504 and conventional options, then submit a complete package.
Arwa Coffee Franchise Loan FAQs
How much does an Arwa Coffee franchise cost?
According to the 2026 FDD, the estimated initial investment for one shop is $237,300 to $614,600, including the $40,000 franchise fee.
What is the Arwa Coffee franchise fee?
The initial franchise fee is $40,000, paid when you sign. A three-shop development agreement carries an $80,000 development fee.
What is the royalty?
The royalty is 4% of gross sales, plus a brand development fee currently at 1% and a required local marketing spend of 1%.
How much liquid capital or net worth do I need?
The portion of the FDD we reviewed does not state a minimum. Ask during discovery, and plan for the lender’s equity injection and reserves.
Is an Arwa Coffee franchise loan eligible for SBA financing?
Yes. The brand is listed on the SBA Franchise Directory under code S8369 with no additional notes.
Does Arwa Coffee offer financing?
No. Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing.
Can I finance equipment separately?
Yes. Espresso machines, grinders, refrigeration and POS hardware can be financed through equipment loans or leases.
Do I get an exclusive territory?
No. The FDD provides a designated area, generally a 2-mile radius, but no exclusive territory.
How long does it take to open?
The FDD says the typical time from signing to opening is 180 days, and the shop must open within 365 days.
Does the FDD include financial performance information?
Check Item 19 of the current FDD. If it includes no financial performance representation, base your projections on market research and your own assumptions.
Final Thoughts
An Arwa Coffee franchise loan finances a distinctive concept with a clear cost structure but a short franchised history. Get firm build-out bids, test your projections against every Item 6 fee and keep reserves beyond the three months the FDD budgets.
US Professional Funding helps buyers finance coffee shops and other franchise concepts. Explore our franchise financing programs and our restaurant financing solutions, then talk with a specialist about your plans.



