How to Finance a Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise: Small-Box Pizza
By Chris Cornella
A Stoner’s Pizza Joint franchise loan typically funds a small pizza shop rather than a full dining room. The brand builds its units in 900 to 1,800 square feet, favors second-generation restaurant spaces and leans on takeout and delivery, which keeps the build-out and the loan smaller than many restaurant franchises.
US Professional Funding is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Stoner’s Pizza Joint; the name is used only to describe the business. Figures from the franchisor’s disclosure document and website can change, loan programs and terms vary by lender and borrower, and every loan is subject to lender review and approval. Nothing here is legal, tax or investment advice; review the current franchise disclosure document (FDD) and franchise agreement with a qualified franchise attorney and accountant.
Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise Loan at a Glance
- Concept: a quick-service pizza brand selling fresh pizza, slices and smoked wings, primarily for takeout and delivery.
- Founded: 2013, near Savannah, Georgia; the company now lists its headquarters in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
- System size: the company reported more than 60 locations nationwide in April 2026.
- Estimated investment: the franchise site says investment typically ranges from $138K to $400K.
- Royalty: 5% of net sales, according to the franchise site.
- Candidate profile: personal net worth of at least $250K, including at least $100K in liquid assets.
- Footprint: 900 to 1,800 square feet of interior space with 15 to 20 feet of frontage.
- SBA Franchise Directory: listed under code S3076, with a note about collateral lien positions explained below.
What Is Stoner’s Pizza Joint?
Stoner’s Pizza Joint started in 2013 near Savannah, Georgia, and is now based in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. John Stetson has served as CEO since June 2020; the franchisor notes that he is also one of the system’s largest franchisees, owning more than 10 stores.
Positioning. The franchise site places the brand at a premium price point: above the big discount chains’ price wars and below local pizzerias and independent chains. The menu centers on freshly made pizza and smoked wings.
Formats. Units can be dine-in or takeout and delivery only. The franchisor describes a simple assembly-line operation with a limited menu, little inventory and a small staff. Customers order online and through third-party delivery apps, and the system also includes two concession locations inside a sports arena.
Growth. In April 2026 the company reported more than 60 locations, eight committed units in the Orlando area, a 10-unit development agreement in the Dallas-Fort Worth area and new markets in Kansas and Tennessee.
Why lenders view it the way they do. Lenders see a small-box restaurant with a modest build-out and a delivery-heavy sales mix, from a growing system that relies on existing franchisees adding units. They will still underwrite the location, lease and the operator’s restaurant experience carefully.
Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise Costs
The franchise site shows its full Item 7 table only as an image and offers a more detailed investor package on request, so confirm every line in the current FDD.
Initial franchise fee. The franchise fee is not stated in text on the franchise site. Item 5 of the FDD will show the amount and any multi-unit or development pricing.
Real estate and build-out. The brand targets second-generation restaurant sites, meaning spaces that previously housed a restaurant and may already have a hood, plumbing and grease trap. Reusing that infrastructure is the main reason the franchisor says it tries to keep start-up costs under $150,000 including working capital, and many units open around that level. A first-generation space or full dine-in format pushes costs toward the top of the range.
Equipment. Expect pizza ovens, a make line, prep tables, walk-in or reach-in refrigeration, dough equipment, wing cooking equipment, a point-of-sale system and order screens.
Opening costs and working capital. Opening inventory, signage, training, grand opening marketing and an operating reserve round out the budget. Typical Item 7 categories for a unit like this include:
- Initial franchise fee
- Leasehold improvements
- Kitchen equipment and smallwares
- Signage and decor
- Technology and point-of-sale system
- Opening inventory
- Training expenses
- Grand opening marketing
- Additional funds for the initial operating period
Total investment. The franchise site says investment typically ranges from a low of $138K to a high of $400K.
Ongoing Fees and How They Affect Your Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise Loan
Royalty. The franchise site lists a 5% royalty on net sales, as opposed to gross sales. That distinction matters in a delivery-heavy business, so read the FDD’s definition of net sales closely.
Marketing and technology. Item 6 will show any brand fund, local marketing requirement and technology or online ordering fees.
Delivery commissions. Third-party delivery apps charge commissions on each order. Projections should separate those costs from in-store and direct online sales.
How lenders factor these costs in. A lender projects sales by channel, subtracts food and paper, labor, rent, royalty, marketing and delivery commissions, and checks that the remainder covers loan payments with room to spare.
Franchisor Requirements for New Owners
- Net worth: at least $250K in personal net worth, according to the franchisor’s ideal-candidate profile.
- Liquidity: at least $100K in liquid assets.
- Credit: the franchisor’s profile includes a minimum personal credit score.
- Experience: the franchisor targets growth-oriented single and multi-unit restaurateurs and operators who understand restaurant operations and are community oriented.
The approval process. Candidates complete an inquiry form, receive the investor package and FDD, speak with the franchise team and existing owners, and sign once approved. Pre-opening support includes site analysis and selection, new franchisee training, store design and layout, equipment procurement and build-out assistance, and soft and grand opening support.
Ways to Own a Stoner’s Pizza Joint
A new unit. Most owners open a new store in a second-generation space. Our pages on franchise start-up financing and restaurant start-up financing explain how these loans are built.
Buying an existing store. With more than 60 locations, resales may come up. A lender can underwrite the store’s actual sales, lease and delivery mix. Read about buying a franchise resale and our franchise restaurant acquisition financing.
Multi-unit development. The company’s recent deals include eight committed units in Orlando and a 10-unit agreement in Dallas-Fort Worth, so development agreements are part of how the brand grows.
Financing Options for a Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise
SBA 7(a) loans. With the brand on the SBA Franchise Directory, an SBA 7(a) loan can cover the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and working capital in one loan.
SBA 504 loans. The 504 program is designed for owner-occupied real estate and long-lived fixed assets. Because most units lease small inline spaces, it fits mainly when an owner buys a building.
Conventional loans. Experienced operators adding units may prefer a conventional business loan.
Equipment financing. Pizza ovens, refrigeration and the make line can be financed separately. See restaurant equipment financing and leasing.
Working capital and lines of credit. A reserve helps with ramp-up, payroll and the timing of delivery-app payouts. Learn about restaurant working capital.
Seller financing on resales. A seller may carry part of the price on an existing store. A seller note is typically subordinate to the senior lender, and loan programs may limit it.
SBA Loans for Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchisees
SBA lenders generally require a brand to appear on the SBA Franchise Directory before making an SBA-guaranteed loan to one of its franchisees. A listing does not approve any borrower; it clears the franchise relationship for SBA review.
The listing. Stoner’s Pizza Joint appears on the directory under code S3076. The directory note says the lender (or, on a 504 loan, the development company) must make sure it secures the appropriate lien position on all collateral in line with the SBA’s lending rules.
What the note means in plain English. Your lender must hold the right priority on the assets pledged for the loan, such as kitchen equipment and other business assets. Before closing, it will check whether the franchise agreement, the landlord or an equipment lessor has any claim on those assets and will set its own lien position accordingly.
Loan size. The SBA 7(a) program maximum is currently $5 million, though program rules can change. A single store needs a small fraction of that. Our SBA loan calculator can help with early payment estimates, which are for planning only.
Application tips. Bring the FDD, the franchise agreement, a personal financial statement, tax returns, a résumé showing restaurant experience, a signed lease or letter of intent and a monthly projection by sales channel.
How Lenders Evaluate a Stoner’s Pizza Joint Deal
Personal credit and financial history. Lenders review credit, tax returns and a personal financial statement and typically require a personal guarantee.
Net worth and liquidity. The franchisor’s profile calls for at least $250K net worth and $100K liquid. Lenders look at what remains after the equity injection.
Industry and management experience. Restaurant management or multi-unit experience strengthens a request, particularly for a small team that must run a fast assembly line.
Business plan and projections. Build sales by channel, model delivery commissions and labor, and show a realistic ramp-up.
The FDD and franchise agreement. Lenders read Items 5, 6, 7, 10, 12, 17 and 19, along with Items 3 and 4. See how lenders read a Franchise Disclosure Document.
Site and lease. The lease term should run at least as long as the loan. Lenders will also review frontage, visibility, parking and how close the site is to delivery customers.
Historical financials for resales. Expect to provide the store’s profit and loss statements, sales reports and tax returns.
Second-Generation Sites and Equipment
The brand’s preference for second-generation restaurant spaces is its biggest cost lever. A space that already has a hood, fire suppression, grease trap and plumbing can save a buyer much of the construction budget. Lenders will still want an inspection of existing systems, since replacing a failed hood or walk-in after opening can strain early cash flow.
What to finance. Pizza ovens, a make line, refrigeration, a mixer, wing equipment and point-of-sale hardware are the core assets and, in most deals, the main collateral.
Multi-Unit Growth and Development Agreements
The franchisor says it has more than doubled its size since 2020, mostly through existing franchisees opening more units. For a second or third Stoner’s Pizza Joint franchise loan, lenders review the first store’s results, the operator’s management bench and combined debt. A development agreement sets an opening schedule, so plan financing for each unit before signing. Read about multi-unit franchise financing.
Real-World Scenarios
A first-time owner in a former sandwich shop. A buyer with restaurant management experience leases a second-generation space and uses an SBA 7(a) loan for the fee, light build-out, equipment and a reserve.
A multi-unit operator signing a development deal. An operator with other restaurants signs for several units and finances each opening with a conventional loan backed by existing cash flow.
A buyer purchasing an existing store. A buyer acquires a store from a retiring owner, the lender underwrites actual sales and the seller carries a small subordinate note.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Assuming every site will open near the low end of the range
- Skipping an inspection of existing hood and kitchen systems
- Ignoring delivery commissions in projections
- Signing a lease shorter than the loan term
- Committing to a development schedule without planning financing
For more pitfalls, read the restaurant loan mistakes that cost owners the most.
Next Steps to Finance Your Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise
Step 1: Confirm you fit the profile. Check your net worth, liquidity and credit against the franchisor’s criteria.
Step 2: Request the FDD and investor package. Review Items 5, 6, 7, 12, 17 and 19, along with Items 3 and 4.
Step 3: Find a site. Work with the franchisor on a second-generation space in an available territory.
Step 4: Build a budget and projection. Include build-out, equipment, fees, delivery costs and a reserve.
Step 5: Talk with a financing specialist. Compare SBA 7(a), conventional and equipment financing.
Step 6: Apply and open. Submit your package, sign the lease and agreement, and complete training.
Stoner’s Pizza Joint Franchise Loan FAQs
How much does a Stoner’s Pizza Joint franchise cost?
The franchise site says investment typically ranges from $138K to $400K, and the franchisor tries to keep start-up costs under $150,000 including working capital.
What is the franchise fee?
It is disclosed in Item 5 of the FDD; the franchise site does not state it in text.
What royalty does Stoner’s Pizza Joint charge?
The franchise site lists a 5% royalty on net sales. Check Item 6 for marketing and technology fees.
How much liquid capital do I need?
The franchisor’s ideal-candidate profile calls for at least $100K in liquid assets within a personal net worth of at least $250K.
Is Stoner’s Pizza Joint eligible for SBA loans?
Yes. It is listed on the SBA Franchise Directory under code S3076, so SBA lenders can consider loans to its franchisees, subject to normal underwriting and the directory’s collateral note.
How big is a Stoner’s Pizza Joint store?
About 900 to 1,800 square feet of interior space with 15 to 20 feet of frontage.
Can I finance equipment separately?
Yes. Ovens, refrigeration and the make line can be financed apart from the main loan.
Can I buy an existing store?
Existing stores may come up for sale, subject to franchisor approval under Item 17.
Does Stoner’s Pizza Joint offer financing?
Check Item 10 of the FDD for any financing the franchisor offers.
How long is the franchise term?
The term, renewal and transfer conditions are in Item 17 of the FDD.
Final Thoughts
Stoner’s Pizza Joint offers a compact, delivery-driven pizza format that can open in a reused restaurant space. A well-sized Stoner’s Pizza Joint franchise loan covers the build-out, equipment and enough working capital to carry the store through its first months.
US Professional Funding helps franchise owners and buyers finance start-ups, acquisitions, equipment and working capital. Learn more about our franchise financing and restaurant financing solutions.



